No Differences With Siddaramaiah: Shivakumar


Amid speculations over the chief ministerial face in Karnataka after Congress’ emphatic victory in the Assembly polls, state party president DK Shivakumar on Sunday said that he has no differences with Siddaramaiah, who is being seen as a front-runner for the position of the top post.

“Some people said that I have differences with Siddaramaiah. There are no differences between us,” said DK Shivkumar while addressing a press conference in Tumkur on Sunday.
The Karnataka Congress chief’s remarks came hours after posters were put up by the respective supporters of both leaders referring to them as the “next CM” of Karnataka.

“Many times I have sacrificed for the party. I sacrificed and helped and stood with Siddaramaiah. Wasn’t I patient when I was not made a minister in the beginning? I have given cooperation to Siddaramaiah,” he said.

Congress, which registered an emphatic victory defeating BJP in Karnataka on Saturday, now faces the challenge of deciding the chief minister amid the speculations of Siddaramaiah being the front-runner followed by state party president DK Shivakumar.

Aiming to decide on the matter, Karnataka Congress leaders including the party president and newly elected MLAs of the party will hold a Congress Legislature Party meeting today in Bengaluru.

According to sources, the leaders will pass a resolution authorising the party’s high command to decide on the CM face and the Deputy CM face.

“Siddaramaiah is the first front-runner for the CM Post, so the Congress high command is in favour of making him the chief minister,” sources said.

They further said that the party’s leadership has offered him the post of the Deputy CM, acknowledging his hard work.

“Shivakumar has also been offered an important ministry,” sources said.

After emerging victorious in the Karnataka polls which the party described as a “stepping stone to the Lok Sabha polls”, Congress wants to project Siddaramaiah who belongs to OBC Kurba Samaj as the Chief Minister’s post, sources said.

DK Shivakumar defeated JDS candidate B Nagaraju in the Kanakapura constituency by 1,22,392 votes while Siddaramaiah won the Varuna assembly seat defeating Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) V Somanna.

According to the Election Commission of India, Congress won 135 seats pushing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) out of power in the only southern state it ruled and boosting its own prospects for the electoral battles ahead. BJP managed to win 66 seats.

Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) bagged 19 seats. Independents have won two seats while Kalyana Rajya Pragathi Paksha and Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha won one seat each. (ANI)

Read More:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x