India's first under-river metro tunnel built in Kolkata

Modi Congratulates Ustad Zakir Hussain, Shankar Mahadevan For Grammy Win

India's first under-river metro tunnel built in Kolkata

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday congratulated musicians Ustad Zakir Hussain, Shankar Mahadevan, Rakesh Chaurasia, Ganesh Rajagopalan and Selvaganesh V for their Grammy wins.

Taking to X, PM wrote, “Congratulations @ZakirHtabla, @Rakeshflute, @Shankar_Live, @kanjeeraselva, and @violinganesh on your phenomenal success at the #GRAMMYs! Your exceptional talent and dedication to music have won hearts worldwide. India is proud! These achievements are a testament to the hardwork you keep putting in. It will also inspire the new generation of artists to dream big and excel in music.”

The tabla player and music composer picked up the coveted award in ‘Best Global Music Performance’ category for ‘Pashto’.

In his acceptance speech for ‘Pashto’ on behalf of Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer, and Rakesh Chaurasia- his fellow musicians, the 72-year-old Mumbai-born percussionist said, “Thanks to the Academy, thanks to all these great musicians for giving us beautiful music…our deepest thanks to our families…without them, we are nothing… without love, without music, without harmony, we are nothing.”

‘As We Speak’, in which the tabla maverick has collaborated with Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer and Rakesh Chaurasia, won the Grammy for the ‘Best Contemporary Instrumental Album’ category.

Hussain, who is also part of the Jazz group ‘Shakti’ along with Shankar Mahadevan, won ‘The Best Global Music Album Award for its latest album, ‘This Moment’.

The album ‘This Moment’ features eight songs created by John McLaughlin (guitar synth), Zakir Hussain (tabla), Shankar Mahadevan (vocalist), V Selvaganesh (percussionist), and Ganesh Rajagopalan (violinist). They were nominated for the Grammys with other artists like Susana Baca, Bokante, Burna Boy, and Davido.

The group also features guitarist John McLaughlin, percussionist V Selvaganesh and violinist Ganesh Rajagopalan.

At the ceremony, the Shakti band competed with other artists like Susana Baca, Bokante, Burna Boy, and Davido. ‘This Moment’ album was released on June 30 last year.

The 66th edition of the Grammys was held in Los Angeles. (ANI)

For more details visit us:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x