Manipur Polls: Biren Singh To Contest For BJP From Heingang

BJP which is seeking its second term in office in Manipur has announced tickets for candidates for all 60 assembly seats.
Sitting Chief Minister N Biren Singh will be contesting the election from Heingang. PWD minister in the government Thangom Biswajit Singh will contest from Thongju.

The party has given tickets to people cutting across sections of society including women doctors, IAS officers and sportspersons.

Former footballers N Biren Singh, Letpao Haokip and Somatai Shaiza have been fielded. Martial Arts player Yumnam Khemchand Singh has been given a ticket.

BJP has fielded three retired IAS officers Kh. Raghumani Singh, Yengkhom Surchandra Singh and Dinganglung Gangmei (Dipu) who has taken VRS recently.

The party which had given Manipur its first woman president namely Adhikarimayum Sharda Devi has fielded three women candidates, namely Soraisam Kebi Devi, SS Olish and Nemcha Kipgen.

Only tickets of two candidates, who were sitting MLAs, have been cut.

“When PM Narendra Modi came to Manipur, the people were so overjoyed and felt happy that PM Narendra Modi holds us so close in his heart. So, in return, the people of Manipur have now decided that they will keep PM Modi close to their hearts by electing the government with a two-third majority,” Sambit Patra, BJP Manipur incharge said.

The BJP has set itself a target of winning two-thirds majority with at least 40 seats out of 60 seats.

“BJP will contest all the 60 seats and will get a majority on its own. The Modi government has ensured that Manipur will get a stable government and will continue to ensure the development and peace of the region,” BJP’s Manipur election incharge Bhupendra Yadav announced.

Currently, the NDA, led by the BJP, is in majority in the assembly. This includes 30 BJP MLAs and three MLAs from NPP and four NDF and three independents.

Leading the NDA government, Biren Singh on March 15, 2017, formed the government in Manipur. It, however, got a major jolt in June 2020, when nine MLAs, including ministers, withdrew their support from the government, reducing it to a minority. An intervention by the central leadership within a week resulted in four NPP MLAs coming back to the NDA fold, thereby averting the fall of the government.

Manipur goes into polls in two phases-February 27 and March 3 for polling on 60 Assembly seats. Results will be announced on March 10.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x