Mamta on Dharna Near PM House

Mamata Calls On All Oppn Parties To Unite On Presidential Poll

Mamta on Dharna Near PM House

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has written to opposition chief ministers and leaders of parties opposed to the BJP for a meeting on June 15 in view of the presidential elections and to strengthen resistance against “divisive force”.

The meeting will be held at the Constitution Club on June 15 in Delhi.

Banerjee has written to 22 political leaders including Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao, Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin, Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray, Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren and Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann.

She has also written to Congress chief Sonia Gandhi.

Trinamool Congress said in a tweet that Mamata Banerjee has called upon all progressive opposition forces to meet and deliberate on the future course of action keeping the Presidential elections in sight at the Constitution Club, New Delhi.

“The Presidential elections are around the corner, presenting the perfect opportunity for all progressive parties to reconvene and deliberate on the future course of Indian politics,” Banerjee said in the letter.

“The election is monumental because it gives the legislators the opportunity to participate in deciding the Head of our State who is the custodian of our democracy. At a time when our democracy is going through troubling times, I believe that a fruitful confluence of opposition voices is the need of the hour; to echo the deprived and unrepresented communities,” she added.

Banerjee said all progressive forces in the country need to remain aligned “and resist the divisive force that is plaguing us today.”

She alleged that opposition leaders are being “deliberately targeted by different central agencies, the country’s image is maligned internationally and bitter dissensions are created within”.

“It is time we strengthen our resistance,” the letter said.

The Election Commission of India on Thursday announced that the next presidential elections will be held on July 18 and votes will be counted on July 21. (ANI)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x