EU Proposes 5th Package Of Sanctions Against Russia

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen on Tuesday proposed the fifth package of sanctions against Russia which include an import ban on Russian coal and a ban on Russian and Russian-operated vessels from accessing the European Union (EU) ports.

Taking to her Twitter, the European Commission President said, “Russia is waging a cruel, ruthless war, also against Ukraine’s civilian population. We need to sustain utmost pressure at this critical point. So today we are proposing the 5th package of sanctions.”

The sanctions include an import ban on coal from Russia, worth 4 billion euros per year, aimed at cutting an important revenue source for Russia. Further, it includes a full transaction ban on four key Russian banks, including Russia’s largest bank, VTB.

The sanctions also comprise a ban on Russian and Russian operated vessels from accessing EU ports and a ban on Russian and Belarusian road transport operators. They also include export bans, worth 10 billion euros, in crucial areas like advanced semiconductors, machinery and transport equipment.

Specific new import bans worth 5.5 billion euros and targeted measures such as a ban on participation of Russian companies in public procurement and exclusion of all financial support from EU or national to Russian public bodies are also included in the sanctions.

The European Commission President further said that the EU is also proposing further listings of individuals and working on additional sanctions, including on oil imports, and reflecting on some of the ideas of the Member States, like taxes or specific payment channels such as an escrow account.

“Today over 40 countries apply sanctions like these. To take a clear stand is crucial for the whole world. A clear stand against Putin’s war of choice. Against the massacre of civilians. Against the violation of the fundamental principles of the world order. Slava Ukrainje,” she tweeted.

Russian forces launched military operations in Ukraine on February 24, three days after Moscow recognized Ukraine’s breakaway regions – Donetsk and Luhansk – as independent entities.

Several countries including the UK, the US, Canada, and the European Union have condemned Russia’s military operations in Ukraine and imposed sanctions on Moscow. These countries have also promised to help Ukraine with military aid to fight Russia. (ANI)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x